Flinging Arrows

So, I know I can only teach what I know. I want to share with you what God has shown me to be true in the past few weeks.  If I had to depict my week (a few weeks ago) to you, it would have looked something like this; Eph 6 says to put on the amour of God. So, I’m walking through my week with my armor on and then I get a call from my brother telling me my dad had a mild heart attack. So, I lift my shield higher, determined to keep my peace, but as the week rolls on, my arms become weary and my shield becomes heavy and starts to droop.

As my shield starts to fall, the enemy ready to pounce, begins hurling arrows at me left and right.  One of those arrows sneaks past my drooping shield and pierces my flesh. And on that arrow, there is a label, a lie. In big fat letters, I see the word FEAR.  As I grab onto that arrow, the fear begins to grip my heart.  Then I notice something.

There are more arrows coming at me, piercing my skin one after the other and they are labeled too with… UNBELIEF, WAVERING, and DOUBT.  As I take hit, after hit, I begin to lose my strength and I fall to my knees.  As I’m on my knees, I remember something.

I remember the story of Joseph, how things were done to him that were intended for evil, BUT GOD turned them around for good and for His glory. As I’m on my knees, the Lord gives me the strength to pull out each one of those arrows and He flings them straight back at the enemy.

As the Lord begins to fill those wounds with His promises, He begins to speak the word DRENCHED over my heart.  You are drenched in my goodness. You are drenched in my peace, in my loving kindness. You are drenched in my presence, my mercy, my grace and you are drenched in. my. love.

You are my child.

1 John 4:4 “ Little children, you are from God and have overcome them, for He who is in you is greater than he who is in the world.”        

So I begin flinging those arrows back at the enemy and God reminds of what I know to be true; that FEAR has no power over me!

1 John 4:18 There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.”

God’s perfect love casts out fear. Fear is not from Him!  It is the enemy hurling arrows at us desperately trying to paralyze us from knowing and walking in God’s perfect love.  Love is > than fear. HIS LOVE is greater than fear.

So I want to ask you, are you walking around with arrows stuck in your flesh, gripped by their labels from the enemy, paralyzed by the words you see and believing them as your truth that the enemy would have you live out; instead of walking in God’s perfect love?

Can you grab those arrows and fling them back at the enemy shouting out who you are and Whose you are? Declaring that fear will have no power over you, as you walk in God’s perfect love.

I will leave you with this, Deuteronomy 33:27 “ The eternal God is your dwelling place, and underneath are the everlasting arms. And He thrust out the enemy before you and said ‘Destroy”. 

Leave a comment