Gluten-Free, Vegan Almond Joy Protein Balls

I’ve decided it was time to get my act together..again, and get my sweet tooth under control.  It’s been slightly, and by slightly, I mean a raging monster, of a craving to have something sweet. For me, it always occurs in the afternoon hours shortly after lunch.  It’s been so bad lately, that I find myself searching for sugar more out of habit. Terrible. Just terrible. I know.  Like I said, time to get my act together.

So, I have. I cut out all processed sugars and only eat sugar that comes in natural forms such as fruit. It’s been over a week now and I finally have the beast tamed, momentarily. This isn’t my first experience cutting out sugar. In fact, I’ve done it quite often during my 30 day detoxs’. I generally do fine but every once in awhile I see myself going down a slippery slope and know it’s time to pull the reigns back. We have reached that reign pulling time, my friends.

For years now, since I’ve actually started to educate myself on the importance of diet and how it affects daily living, I have been on a mission to revamp my sweet tooth by using some trickery.  I am always trying out new recipes for “healthy” sweets to help curb that craving. I have been quite successful in arming myself with the tools and ingredients needed to fend off that sugar monster that wants to rage inside my bones.

However, sugar is still sugar and moderation is important as well.  This is one of the recipes that I have tucked away in my repertoire when I just can’t shake that sugary feelin’.

It’s quick to make, no bake and my kids can eat them faster than I can get them all rolled out. They would too, if I didn’t make them take a course in moderation!

VEGAN GLUTEN FREE ALMOND JOY PROTEIN BALLS

1c almonds (plus extras for the centers)

1c Arbonne (Vegan, Gluten Free) Chocolate Protein Powder

1/4c cacao powder

1/8tsp salt

Process until you have a fine powder

Wet Ingredients

2TBS coconut oil, melted

5-6 TBS raw honey/maple syrup

1/2c coconut milk*

2tsp vanilla

1/2c shredded raw coconut flakes (plus extra for coating)

*I usually buy coconut cream from a can and then add a little water to it to make my coconut milk.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients in the food processor and blend until combined. Scrape down the sides as needed. Take a small clump of “dough”, feels more like wet sand, add a whole almond in the center and roll into a ball (about the size of a quarter).IMG_20170327_103958

Coat with coconut shreds. This can be done by rolling them in coconut from a bowl or plate, or you can place them in a zip lock bag with coconut shred and shake until well coated.IMG_20170327_104034

Refrigerate for up to two weeks or freeze up to 3 months.

Yields approximately 25-30 balls

almond joy balls 1

I hope you enjoy these as much as we do. They are a tasty little treat that’s easy to take on the go or a fun dessert to have at home.

If you struggle with a sweet tooth like I do, you’ll be sure to appreciate these. It’s all about making baby steps for a healthier, happier you!

Enjoy!

 

** Disclosure: any products purchased through http://www.kristiewakley.arbonne.com I am compensated for as an Independent Consultant. However, I do not recommend products lightly. I recommend only what I have personally used and experienced great results with.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

