Faceprints

Have you ever heard of faceprints before? Think footprints only with your face. Have you ever made faceprints before?   Not to be confused with face plants. Like when you fly over the handle bars of your bike, trip going up the stairs, or what happens after unexpectedly stepping on one of your children’s toys that popped up out of nowhere. This is different.

Face prints happen when there is something intense going on in your life, there is an immediate desire you’d like to have met, or a prolonged concern that you’d like resolved. Pretty much, face prints can occur over any type of circumstance at any time. There really is no wrong time or situation for faceprints.

Recently I found myself making faceprints when my heart had been gripped with fear. It’s when you end up flat on your face in prayer over life. It’s one more step past bended knee. It’s literally flat on your face. BOOM! Faceprint in your carpet!  Well, hopefully you have carpet or you might end up with a broken nose or worse.

Psalm 23

The Lord Is My Shepherd
A Psalm of David.

23 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
    He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.[a]
    He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness[b]
    for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,[c]
    I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
    your rod and your staff,
    they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me
    in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my head with oil;
    my cup overflows.
Surely[d] goodness and mercy[e] shall follow me
    all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell[f] in the house of the Lord
    forever.[g]

This passage has brought great comfort to my heart these past few days and this is why; He restores my soul. He leads me in righteousness. I will fear no evil. He is with me. He comforts me. He prepares a table for me. He anoints me. My cup overflows. Goodness and mercy shall follow me. I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Faceprinting reminds me of these things. It reminds me of who God is, and was and will be. Forever. A never changing, always there, waiting, watching, listening and holding me while I fall to my face in prayer.

Do you know who Horatio G. Spafford is? If there ever was a man who had a reason to faceprint it would be him. As a matter of fact, he penned beautiful words to describe what happens when we faceprint.

This is a brief synopsis of his story.

Horatio was a prominent lawyer and wealthy man for his time. He was married and had 5 children.  He lost his youngest child, his son, to pneumonia as a babe.

He was a well respected businessman. He made a large investment in real estate along Lake Michigan. He lost his most of his investment property to the great Chicago fire of 1871.  Not too long after that, he and his wife along with their four daughters were planning to leave for a trip to Europe for some rest and relaxation.  Horatio, being left no choice but to stay local and attend to business matters at hand, opted to send his wife and four daughters on to Europe as originally planned.  He expected to follow a few days later on another ship.

Instead, he received a cable from his wife informing him that their ship had collided with another ship and sunk within twelve minutes. All four of his daughters had drowned. Horatio immediately set out to meet up with his wife. Along his journey, he was shown the place in the ocean thought to be where his daughters lives were lost.  It was in that moment where he penned one of the greatest hymns of all time.

                            It Is Well With My Soul

  When peace like a river attendeth my way,

When sorrows like sea billows roll,

Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say,

It is well, it is well with my soul.

                      Chorus:

It is well with my soul,

It is well, it is well with my soul

While mourning his loss he was filled with a peace….peace like a river.  You see, this is what happens when we faceprint. Although difficult, maybe even unimaginable pain and suffering like Horatio experienced, faceprinting brings forth peace. I want to thank my friend Amanda for reminding me that faceprinting is a good thing.

It Is Well With My Soul

Kristene DiMarco’s It Is Well

Leave a Reply

