Vegan Black Bean Soup

Ok, I’ll say it! I am SO over winter, cold and snow! It’s March people and I live in California. The weather is a big reason I STAY in California…not anymore!  I recently went down to SoCal and soaked up some sunshine just to hear my hometown got dumped on with at least 6 more inches of snow! Eek!

Fellow Michigan friends, and other Midwesterners/Northerners take my complaining with a grain of salt as I know getting “dumped on” with six inches is called a light dusting in your area and Winter lasts until May.  (I feel your pain).  I’ve become quite the fare weathered friend since I moved to CA and I’m completely OK with that.

So while I wallow in my self pity and think of food, because that’s what I do when in self pity mode, I’ll at least share a fantastically great recipe for a cold day.

A quick, healthy, easy meal  for those nights where I’m on the go or just plain tired to try my hand at something new or involved (everynight hehe). That being said, I took advantage of the cold day (I’ll show you snow!) and made a big batch of Black Bean soup!

I usually double the recipe and freeze half for another meal. I also tend to add a bit more bell pepper than what’s listed in the recipe. I just go by taste for all of the seasonings.  But here is a good starting point for those of you who like to have recipes spelled out.

bb-soup-1

This is by far one of my favorite soups of all time and I’m so excited to share it with you! It’s delicious and filling. Plus, as a leftover it makes a great burrito filling or a nacho topping! One meal turned into two or three is always a fantastic thing in my world. One less thing to think about makes a big difference these days with little tykes running around. It’s the small things in life people..it really is.  Like sunshine and warmth!

Although, I have to say, eat this for two or three meals and you’ll be creating your own warmth before too long. hehe. I can hear it now (in a hillbilly drawl), “Uh honey, it’s ahh snowin’ ergain, heaters out too. Better be a fixin’ a double batch of that there black bean soup of yers so we can stay warm tonight!”  The cold must be getting to me. There I go thinking in hillbilly drawls again.

Black Bean Soup

*onion powder (to taste)

4 cloves of minced garlic

4  celery ribs (chopped)

1/2 red bell pepper chopped (or can use a pinch of sugar and a dash of cayenne)

4-6 cups of vegetable broth (or chicken stock for non vegan version)

5-6 cans of black beans (or 1 1/2 bags of dried beans, soaked and cooked)

2 tsp salt

2 tsp cumin

2 Tbs. Lemon juice

  1. In a large pot add your vegetable or chicken stock, chopped celery, bell pepper, garlic and onion. Simmer for 10 minutes or until celery and peppers are soft.
  2. Add salt, cumin and 3 cans of black beans rinsed and drained (or 1/3 of your cooked dried beans). Simmer for 5 minutes then puree.

I use my blender wand thingy, as I’m sure that’s the official name of the device.

3. Add the rest of your black beans and lemon juice. Heat through and then dig in!

* Feel free to chop up a real onion. I am not a fan, so I usually substitute with the onion powder.

bb-soup-2

This is great served hot off the stove or with avocado, tortilla chips and cheese!

This was the perfect dish for our cold, snowy day! I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

And pleeease start praying for warm weather and sunshine!

Leave a Reply

